EPI-talks

Free online meetups


Upcoming webinars


The team is hard at work preparing new webinars. Please register your interest below to be notified when new webinars become available.

 

Past webinars


Epidemix V2: taking disease models to the web

Presented by Prof Dirk Pfeiffer (City University of Hong Kong) and Dr Guillaume Fournié (Royal Veterinary College)

12 March 2020 | Auckland: 9pm | Geneva: 9am | Hong Kong: 4pm

Epidemix is an interactive multi-model application for teaching and visualising infectious disease transmission. Applicable to both human and animal populations, its goal is to make modelling less of a black box and more transparent. The freely accessible app allows users to explore infectious disease transmission models both for teaching and to understand the effect of different parameters, assumptions and interventions on disease spread. The presentation will provide an overview of the app and introduce newly developed Epidemix features, which include a model that displays the impact of delayed detection and notification, using a pre-populated model for African Swine Fever (ASF).

Muellner U, Fournié G, Muellner P, Ahlstrom C, Pfeiffer D. Epidemix - an Interactive Multi-Model Application for Teaching and Visualizing Infectious Disease Transmission. Epidemics, doi: 10.1016/j.epidem.2017.12.003, 2017.
 Available here

 


The Good, the Bad and the Ugly of online data visualisation

Presented by Dr U Muellner with support from the EPI-interactive team

19 March 2020 | Auckland: 10am | Los Angeles: 2pm (18 March) | London: 9pm (18 March)

“There is a magic in graphs. The profile of a curve reveals in a flash a whole situation — the life history of an epidemic, a panic, or an era of prosperity. The curve informs the mind, awakens the imagination, convinces.” - Henry D. Hubbard

Data visualisation is everywhere these days, but it can be hard work going from a spreadsheet to the web. Let us show you how to get started…

We will present (an admittedly R Shiny-biased) overview of online data visualisation by examining case studies to show how we are connecting data with people. We will explore why "off-the-shelf" solutions often don't work for specialist data and dive into some design and user interface considerations for data visualisation. Along the way we will also bust some good old-fashioned IT myths.


 

Registration

Please register your interest below. We will be in touch when new webinars become available.